OUR WORK

RESILIENCE

WHAT IS RESILIENCE ?

Originally, resilience is a scientific term describing a metal’s capacity to resist under pressure and return to its initial shape after having been deformed. In psychology, resilience is the ability to live, to succeed, to develop and the thrive in the face of adversity.

The term was coined in 1982 by Emmy Werner, an American psychologist who studied 700 street children in Hawaï who had no families, did not attend school and who became victims of physical or sexual aggression. Thirty years later, most of them were broken adults while 28% of the subjects had learned a craft, started a family and suffered from not apparent major psychological disorder. She concluded that children have a particular capacity to overcome early life trauma, she defined the children in her study who exhibited this capacity as “resilient” .  (Werner, E.E & Smith R.S, Vulnerable but invicible : a longitudinal study of resilient children and youth, New York,  McGraw Hill, 1982)

THE INNOCENCE IN DANGER RESILIENCE RETREATS

History

The story behind the Innocence in Danger retreats happened in 2002, when the mother of a young girl who had been brutally raped approached Homayra Sellier, the founder of the Innocence in Danger movement, to ask her for her help. Since the assault, the child had refused to speak.

Upon learning that the girl loved horses, Mrs Sellier invited the child to spend a few days in a nearby equestrian center. Thanks to this experience and through ontact with animals, the girl would eventually overcome her trauma. With the further support of a therapist, she found her voice again as well as the strength to testify against her aggressors in court.

L’évolution des séjours

Since 2002, Innocence in Danger has welcomed children and adolescents (along with an adult guardian) to their resilience retreats. The participants are children whose cases were brought to the attention of the organisation after they revealed that they had suffered from rape, incest, molestation or other forms of violence. These retreats, which are similar to a summer camp, are based on the principals of art therapy. The children participate in artist, athletic and cultural activities.

A team of professionals; art therapists, psychologists, child psychiatrists, doctors, artists and performers create a supportive environment and run various fun-filled workshops to help the kids come out of their shell through creative expression, music or sports.

 

Art Therapy

The programme includes a number of activities with a therapeutic goal: equine therapy, sculpture, film editing, hiking, painting, cooking, rock climbing, rafting, swimming, theatre, photography, calligraphy, nature walks, musique, dance, tai-chi and yoga

“Paint to become conscious of one’s contradictions, dance to dédramatise one’s wounds… Artistic creation along with art therapy gives one access to buried feelings”  (Torre, Stéphanie, http://www.psychologies.com/Therapies/Toutes-les-therapies/Therapies-breves/Articles-et-Dossiers/L-art-therapie)

These are new horizons for children who were victims of abuse and sexual violence. In an idyllic setting, children who have suffered serious physical, emotional and psychological trauma begin to rebuild their personalities.

“Art therapy is a diversion strategy, a ruse that allows one to manoeuvre around suffering, to use artistic creation to penetrate unconscious problems of an individual and to lead that individual to a positive transformation of the self. The point is to start from one’s pains, one’s violences… to make the fodder for personal growth. From the worst a construction, an artistic product that leans towards listening.” Dr Jean Klein (Dr Klein, Jean Pierre, L’Art-thérapie, Puf, collection Que sais-je, 1997)

During the course of the workshops, the children bond while overcoming difficulties they face together as they work towards personal goals or goals common to the group. By facing individual or common challenges, they build their self-confidence little by little, learning to trust themselves and others. Depending on the situation, one or both of the child’s parents are invited to accompany him or her during their stay. The reassuring role of the parent are fundamental to a child’s well-being and the retreats aim to strengthen that trust.

The Innocence in Danger Retreats are planned with two perspectives in mind:

  • The Individual, which takes into account each child’s abilities and potential
  • The Interpersonal, which takes into account the ties that bind the child to the group

CREATING IS LEARNING TO KNOW YOURSELF

Children slowly begin to regain trust in themselves and in adults by getting touch with another part of themselves, by discovering and developing their own talents.

 

Their smiles, words, drawings and joyful participation, despite their long years in court, evaluations, hurt, anguish and incertitude are testimonies of their courage. 

 

The team becomes the privileged witness to moments of joy and happiness that they build with the children. These moments become cushions, invisible nets made of hope that will become the bedrock the children will use to explore their interests, talents, passions and potential. 

 

The children develop a powerful energy and a taste for life.

 

« The taste for life is not hereditary. But we can pass this skill on to our children through love, learning and mindfulness » – Jean-Paul Dubois, Une vie française, SEUIL, 2005

 

Experts, pedo-psychiatrists et psychologists unanimously believe that this love of life comes about through learning to experiment with happiness.

 

The Innocence en Danger Summer Camps in Switzerland are about resilience, the potential for life that resides in each of us even in those whose life and innocence has been broken, those for whom an event might have come like an earthquake to shake a child’s beliefs, confidence and love…

 

The children learn about empathy as defined by neurobiologist Jean Decety : «the capacity to feel the appropriate emotional response to a feeling expressed by another, to distinguish between yourself and that other and to regulate ones own emotional response». http://www.leblogdesrapportshumains.fr/quest-ce-que-lempathie/, 2013

 

It is said that the lack of empathy is what could enable a human to hurt, to kill and to abuse others without feeling bad or guilty – this is a character trait of many predators.

 

The children learn to live alongside people from different origins, religions and cultures. People with different traditions and their world, their spirit and their hearts are opened to these.

 

Above all, they learn hope. We re-create a secure and constructive family dynamic. They feel welcomed into this and from there they can go beyond their victimhood. They leave with joy and love in their hearts and thanks to the activities, they also leave with a new found self-confidence. The discovery and development of their own talents becomes their strength.

 

Smiles, words, drawings all become small traces of their courage despite years of hurt and incertitude.

 

The children have been heard and respected in their rights, their integrity and their dignity. They often leave behind a part of their trauma and go into the future looking ahead.

 

Not only have a lot of the children discovered talents at the Summer Camps but some have gone on to pursue careers in these creative endeavours. All found a new confidence and strength for what lay ahead. They feel less alone in their trials and tribulations, be they judicial or medical. We catch up with and follow all the children that join the Swiss Summer Camp to see how they are doing and offer any support we can.

 

Innocence in Danger is a voice for children. All children are the hope and promise of tomorrow, they are the ones who will lead and shape our societies, our countries, our world. Our goal is to set them on this path, a path of possibility. 

 

Innocence in Danger Summer Camps are in operation today in Switzerland, Germany, Austria, Colombia, and the USA.

[1] Werner, E.E & Smith R.S, Vulnerable but invicible : a longitudinal study of resilient children and youth, New York,  McGraw Hill, 1982

[1] Torre, Stéphanie, http://www.psychologies.com/Therapies/Toutes-les-therapies/Therapies-breves/Articles-et-Dossiers/L-art-therapie

[1] Dr Klein, Jean Pierre, L’Art-thérapie, Puf, collection Que sais-je, 1997

[1] Bohler, Sébastien, « Pourquoi la pédophilie est un crime ». http://www.pourlascience.fr/ewb_pages/a/actualite-pourquoi-la-pedophilie-est-un-crime-20695.php


[1] Dubois, J.P, Une vie française, SEUIL, 2005

[1] http://www.leblogdesrapportshumains.fr/quest-ce-que-lempathie/, 2013

LES RÉSULTATS

Studies show that a child can do well when well surrounded and guided.

 

Testimonials from children and parents, alongside observations made by experts asked by Innocence in Danger both show a positive growth in the participants.

 

In 2013 a study carried out by the University of Koblenz measured the impact of the Innocence in Danger Resilience Summer Camps. The results showed the significant improvements – all the children benefitted from their stay.

 

Beyond each stay Innocence in Danger follows and keeps up with each child and family in their day -to-day. Innocence in Danger helps them with the steps they take in the criminal justice system, and in their medical and psychological follow ups. The objective is to create positive conditions for the children’s post-traumatic reconstruction.

 

According to Sébastien Bohler, Doctor in neurobiology : «The most important thing to remember about childhood trauma […] is that in a positive and safe environment in which the child’s fundamental needs (physical and emotional) are met, the damage caused by trauma and abuse can be mitigated and reduced.»[i]

 

The participants of the Resilience Summer Camps begin to understand, feel and know that they will not remain victims for the rest of their lives. Reliable and safe relationships are an essential part of the road to overcoming the effects of trauma from childhood to adulthood and create an space in which the brain can safely begin to heal.

[I] Bohler, Sébastien, « Pourquoi la pédophilie est un crime ». http://www.pourlascience.fr/ewb_pages/a/actualite-pourquoi-la-pedophilie-est-un-crime-20695.php

RÉSILIENCE - INNOCENCE IN DANGER (SUISSE)
58
page-template,page-template-full_width,page-template-full_width-php,page,page-id-58,qode-quick-links-1.0,ajax_updown_fade,page_not_loaded,,qode-title-hidden,qode_grid_1200,qode-theme-ver-11.2,qode-theme-bridge,wpb-js-composer js-comp-ver-5.2.1,vc_responsive

NOS ACTIONS

RÉSILIENCE

QU’EST-CE QUE LA RÉSILIENCE ?

A l’origine, la résilience est la capacité d’un métal à résister aux pressions et à reprendre sa structure initiale après avoir été déformé. En psychologie, on appelle « résilience » la capacité à vivre, à réussir, à se développer en dépit de l’adversité.

Le concept a été découvert en 1982 par Emmy Werner[i], psychologue américaine qui a suivi à Hawaï 700 enfants sans famille, sans école, vivant dans la rue et victimes d’agressions physiques ou sexuelles. Trente ans plus tard, la plupart d’entre eux étaient devenus des adultes détruits tandis que 28% avaient réussi à apprendre un métier, fonder une famille, et ne souffraient pas de troubles psychiques majeurs. Elle en conclut qu’il existe, chez les enfants, une capacité particulière à surmonter les traumatismes de la vie pour s’en sortir, et appela les enfants « résilients » ceux qui avaient fait appel à ces capacités. [i] Werner, E.E & Smith R.S, Vulnerable but invicible : a longitudinal study of resilient children and youth, New York,  McGraw Hill, 1982

LES SÉJOURS DE RÉSILIENCE D’INNOCENCE EN DANGER

Les origines

L’histoire des séjours de résilience au sein d’Innocence en Danger commence en 2002, lorsqu’une maman dont la fille avait été brutalement violée s’adresse à Homayra Sellier, fondatrice du mouvement Innocence en Danger, pour lui demander de l’aide afin de faire sortir la jeune fille du mutisme dans lequel elle avait sombré.

Sachant que la jeune fille aimait les chevaux, Madame Sellier invite l’enfant à passer quelques jours dans un centre équestre. La jeune fille, au contact des animaux, surmontera son traumatisme. Par la suite elle entamera un suivi thérapeutique et finalement trouvera la force de témoigner contre ses agresseurs devant la cour pénale.

L’évolution des séjours

Depuis 2002, Innocence en Danger initie des séjours de résilience pour les mineurs dont les dossiers sont suivis par l’organisation suite à des révélations de viols, inceste, attouchements et violences, en leur offrant des séjours basés principalement sur l’art thérapie et proposant des activités artistiques, sportives, culturelles…

Ce sont des professionnels, art-thérapeutes, psychologues, pédopsychiatres, médecins et artistes qui accompagnent les enfants et encadrent les ateliers, riches en activités stimulantes et variées, culturelles, artistiques et sportives.

L’art thérapie

Les ateliers proposés sont créatifs et à visée thérapeutique : équithérapie, sculpture, montage de films, sortie en forêt, peinture, cours de cuisine, trekking, escalade, rafting, natation, théâtre, ateliers de photographie, peinture, calligraphie, découverte de la nature, musique, danse, tai-chi et yoga.

« Peindre pour prendre conscience de ses contradictions, danser pour dédramatiser ses blessures… La création artistique permet avec l’art thérapie d’accéder à des sentiments enfouis »[i] – Stéphanie Torre [i] Torre, Stéphanie, http://www.psychologies.com/Therapies/Toutes-les-therapies/Therapies-breves/Articles-et-Dossiers/L-art-therapie

Ce sont de nouveaux horizons ouverts aux enfants victimes de maltraitances et de violences sexuelles. Dans un cadre idyllique, ces enfants qui ont vécu de graves traumatismes physiques, émotionnels et psychologiques entament la reconstruction de leur personnalité.

« L’art thérapie est une stratégie de détour, une ruse qui permet de contourner les souffrances, se servir de la création artistique pour pénétrer les problématiques inconscientes de l’individu et de le conduire à une transformation positive de lui-même, le but est de partir de ses douleurs, de ses violences… pour en faire le matériau d’un cheminement personnel. Du pire naît ainsi une construction, une production artistique qui tend vers l’écoute. »[i] – Dr Jean Klein [i] Dr Klein, Jean Pierre, L’Art-thérapie, Puf, collection Que sais-je, 1997

Au cours des ateliers, qui ont une durée d’une à deux semaines, des liens se tissent entre enfants confrontés aux mêmes difficultés, autour d’objectifs personnels ou communs à leur groupe. Par la réalisation de ces objectifs de façon personnelle ou collective, ils reprennent peu à peu le chemin de la foi en eux-mêmes, en l’autre, en l’avenir. Les relations sécurisantes entretenues avec le parent protecteur sont fondamentales pour l’enfant, c’est la raison pour laquelle ce dernier est également invité à participer au séjour résilience.

Les séjours de résilience d’Innocence en danger s’effectuent selon deux axes :

  • Un axe individuel, qui concerne les capacités propres à chaque enfant, son potentiel (rarement pris en considération dans notre société).
  • Un axe relationnel, qui concerne les liens que l’enfant met en place avec le groupe.

CRÉER C’EST APPRENDRE A SE CONNAITRE

Mis en contact avec une autre partie d’eux-mêmes, découvrant ou approfondissant leurs talents, les enfants reprennent progressivement confiance en eux et en l’adulte.

Leurs sourires, mots, dessins, participations enjouées, malgré les longues années de procédure judiciaire, d’évaluations d’experts, de blessures, d’angoisse et d’incertitude, témoignent de tout leur courage.

L’équipe présente est le témoin privilégié et heureux de ces moments de purs joie et bonheur que nous tissons ensemble. Ces moments agissent comme des coussins, comme des toiles invisibles faites de joie et d’espoir et seront des socles sur lesquels ils pourront se reposer pour une meilleure exploration d’eux-mêmes, de leurs capacités, talents, passions et potentiels.

In fine, ils développeront une énergie plus puissante, un goût et un amour pour la vie.

« Le goût de vivre n’est pas héréditaire. Mais nous pouvons tous le transmettre à nos enfants par les voies de l’amour et l’apprentissage de l’attention »[i]– Jean-Paul Dubois [i] Dubois, J.P, Une vie française, SEUIL, 2005

Experts, pédopsychiatres et psychologues sont unanimes sur le fait que cet amour, ce goût pour la vie apparaît à travers l’apprentissage des capacités à expérimenter le bonheur. Les séjours d’Innocence en Danger s’adressent au résilient, au potentiel de vie qui réside dans chacun même quand des incidents de la vie ont brisé une innocence et ont agi comme un tremblement de terre sur les croyances de l’enfant, sa confiance, son amour…

Les enfants apprennent également à développer de l’empathie, définie par le neurobiologiste Pr Jean Decety comme « la capacité de ressentir une émotion appropriée en réponse à celle exprimée par autrui, d’effectuer une distinction entre soi et l’autre et de réguler ses propres réponses émotionnelles ».[i] [i] http://www.leblogdesrapportshumains.fr/quest-ce-que-lempathie/, 2013

(C’est le manque d’empathie qui permettrait de faire du mal, de tuer, et d’abuser les autres sans se sentir mal ou coupable, trait de caractère des prédateurs).

Ils apprennent à vivre avec des gens d’origines, de religions, de cultures ou traditions différentes ; leur monde, leur esprit et leur cœur sont plus ouverts.

Mais au-dessus de tout, ils apprennent à avoir de l’espoir. Nous recréons une dynamique de famille sécurisante et constructive dans laquelle ils intègrent qu’ils ne restent pas victime à vie. Ils partent du séjour avec le goût de la joie et de l’amour. Grâce aux projets réalisés, la confiance se récupère peu à peu. La découverte et le développement de leurs talents deviennent leur force.

A travers les sourires, les mots, les dessins, les signes, ils nous prouvent tout le courage qu’ils ont malgré de longues années de procédure judiciaire, d’évaluations d’experts, de blessures, d’angoisse et d’incertitude.

Nous savons que les enfants qui ont eu la chance d’avoir été écoutés, qui sont respectés dans leurs droits, leur intégrité et leur dignité, peuvent surmonter le traumatisme qu’ils ont vécu derrière eux et aller de l’avant.

En plus de la découverte de talents qui ont permis à beaucoup d’entre eux de faire carrière et la restauration d’une confiance brisée, ces séjours leur donnent la force dont ils ont besoin pour affronter un procès. Ils ne sont plus seuls sur la longue route des procédures judiciaires et médicales. Et bien sûr, ces enfants sont suivis tout au long de l’année.

Innocence en Danger est la voix des enfants. Des enfants qui sont l’espoir et les promesses de demain, ceux qui vont diriger nos entreprises, nos pays et nos frontières. Notre but est de leur ouvrir les chemins du possible.

Nos séjours existent actuellement en Suisse, Allemagne, Autriche, Colombie et aux Etats-Unis.

[1] Werner, E.E & Smith R.S, Vulnerable but invicible : a longitudinal study of resilient children and youth, New York,  McGraw Hill, 1982

[1] Torre, Stéphanie, http://www.psychologies.com/Therapies/Toutes-les-therapies/Therapies-breves/Articles-et-Dossiers/L-art-therapie

[1] Dr Klein, Jean Pierre, L’Art-thérapie, Puf, collection Que sais-je, 1997

[1] Bohler, Sébastien, « Pourquoi la pédophilie est un crime ». http://www.pourlascience.fr/ewb_pages/a/actualite-pourquoi-la-pedophilie-est-un-crime-20695.php


[1] Dubois, J.P, Une vie française, SEUIL, 2005

[1] http://www.leblogdesrapportshumains.fr/quest-ce-que-lempathie/, 2013

LES RÉSULTATS

Toutes les études montrent qu’un enfant peut s’en sortir s’il dispose de tuteurs de développement autour de lui.

À ce jour, les témoignages émanant des enfants eux-mêmes et de leurs parents, croisés avec les observations des experts sollicités par l’association, font état d’une évolution favorable pour les enfants.

En 2013, une étude scientifique menée à l’Université de Koblenz a mesuré d’une manière plus approfondie l’impact des séjours de résilience d’Innocence en Danger.

Ces résultats font état de l’amélioration de l’enfant et ce dans la durée.

Au-delà des séjours de résilience, rappelons qu’Innocence en Danger accompagne et suit chaque enfant et sa famille au quotidien. L’association les épaule dans leurs démarches juridiques, médicales et psychologiques.  L’objectif étant de créer les conditions favorables à la reconstruction post-traumatique des enfants victimes.

Selon Sébastien Bohler, docteur en neurobiologie : « La chose la plus importante à retenir à propos des traumatismes de l’enfance […] est que, dans un environnement sûr et favorable dans lequel les besoins fondamentaux de l’enfant (sécurité physique et sécurité affective) sont satisfaits, les dégâts que causent les traumatismes et les abus peuvent être atténués et allégés.»[i]  Les enfants qui participent aux séjours résilience plusieurs années de suite comprennent peu à peu que l’on ne reste pas victime toute sa vie. Des relations sûres et fiables sont également une composante essentielle dans la guérison des effets des traumatismes, de l’enfance à l’âge adulte, et créent un environnement dans lequel le cerveau peut en toute sécurité commencer le processus de guérison. 

[i] Bohler, Sébastien, « Pourquoi la pédophilie est un crime ». http://www.pourlascience.fr/ewb_pages/a/actualite-pourquoi-la-pedophilie-est-un-crime-20695.php